Fantasy Racers – China 2011

Well that was a fantastic race, wasn’t it?  Sorry for the late posts, but I went away for the Easter weekend and decided to wait until after I came back before writing as there is an extra week’s break before the Turkish GP anyway.

The scores have been up for a while on the Fantasy Racers website, so check them out if you haven’t already.  This time I shall focus on the Points Per Million for the Chinese Grand Prix and as an average for the first three Grands Prix.

Chinese Grand Prix:

CHN_11 PPM

The top 4 are all drivers who finished well after having a poor race in the previous Grand Prix.  Button and Vettel follow, as they were expected to do better.  Kovalainen is also well up there due to a strong finish in the Lotus.  Consequently, both Ferrari and Renault drivers score poorly.

Last 3 Grands Prix:

CHN_11 PPM LAST 3

Now we can see who on average have been the best value for money.  The top 3 are also drivers who head the championship, although curiously Button has been overvalued as he has dropped down in the PPM rankings.  Both the Force India boys are very high up too, along with the Renaults.

If you have picked a strategy where you can change drivers, there are some interesting choices to make.  It looks like the best option may be to pick a top driver and then a mix of midfield drivers – trading them around at the right time being the crucial skill here.  Or you can pick possibly two top drivers and one midfielder.

I have decided to change my team after each race based on the PPM average for the last 3 races, so I have gone for Vettel, di Resta, Heidfeld and Buemi.  The idea is that by picking 3 drivers from the midfield, I hope that one or two will score well here…

Sadly it seems that the rules have not been tweaked enough to allow for changeable strategies to compete with the higher value of the fixed ones – the extra 5 million available to a fixed team means that these teams can often pick a better driver.  It’s a shame really because I don’t see much fun in picking a fixed team and hoping that you get lucky and pick the right guys at the start.  Let’s hope that with some strategy in the picking of the drivers that the flexible teams will be able to catch up!

What strategy have you guys gone for and who will you be picking for the Turkish Grand Prix?

This entry was posted in F1, Fantasy Racers and tagged , , , , by rubbergoat. Bookmark the permalink.

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!

One thought on “Fantasy Racers – China 2011

  1. I find it amusing that my fixed team composed entirely of drivers I support has beaten the (flexible) team of drivers I select based on their Friday performances – as well as all my other teams – twice out of the first three races. Apparently being a Force India and British driver supporter is a good place to be this year :)

Leave a Reply

